社区豁免法常见问题解答

 
 
 
 
 

1. 我还能获得宗教豁免吗?什么是宗教豁免申请要素,为什么将它们包含在该法案中?

是的。 《社区豁免法》维持宗教豁免。该法案还标准化和集中了获得宗教豁免的程序,使其免于涵盖计划的免疫要求,包括:

  • 标准化申请表:该法案要求所有寻求宗教豁免的父母和看护人填写由 DPH 创建的相同的宗教豁免申请表。该法案还指示 DPH 在申请表上说明该部门的立场: 拒绝接种疫苗违反公共卫生政策,并可能危及其子女或他人的健康或安全。这些陈述类似于已经在十几个其他州使用的陈述。填妥的表格必须提交给 DPH 进行处理。
     

  • 提供者签名:宗教豁免申请表必须由儿童的医疗保健提供者签名,以确认收到申请副本。此签名不是对宗教豁免的评估或认可。此签名的目的是促进提供者和未接种疫苗的父母之间的公开对话。 《社区免疫法》指示 DPH 为没有初级保健提供者的计划参与者提供替代流程。
     

  • DPH 批准:该法案在第 5(i) 段中明确规定,DPH “应批准所有有效且准确完成的宗教豁免申请”。换言之,DPH 无权拒绝正确填写的宗教豁免申请表。表格将通过 DPH 处理,以更好地确保我们拥有关于马萨诸塞州授予的豁免数量的准确全州数据。 DPH 不会评估任何人的宗教信仰。
     

  • 宗教隐私:《社区豁免法》不要求任何参与者披露其特定的宗教信仰。这 法案明确禁止 DPH 调查任何个人宗教的性质。参与者  必须证明他们有真诚的宗教信仰以防止免疫接种,符合现行法律。除声明本身外,该法案不要求任何证据或证明这种信念的证据。

回到顶部

 

2. 医疗豁免会更难获得吗?

没有。 《社区免疫法》通过明确规定医疗保健提供者可以考虑儿童的完整医疗情况,而不是仅将医疗豁免的适用范围仅限于那些条件完全符合由疾病控制和预防中心 (CDC)。与其治疗相一致 宗教豁免,该法案还标准化和集中医疗豁免程序  要求 DPH 批准所有有效且准确填写的医疗豁免表格。

回到顶部

3. 需要“赶上”但目前未按计划完全接种疫苗的孩子会怎样?

无论出于何种原因落后于推荐的疫苗接种计划但其医疗记录表明努力赶上计划的儿童将不会被排除在承保计划之外。根据该法 (b) 段,不需要豁免。

回到顶部

 

4. 什么是成熟的未成年人规则,法案是否对其进行了彻底的改变?

成熟的未成年人规则允许有能力的年轻人同意标准的医疗。正如 Baird v. Attorney General (1977) 中所述,该规则已经在马萨诸塞州实施。部分社区豁免法 通过修改现有的对未成年人法规的医疗处理以包括预防性护理措施,将这种做法编入法典。成熟的未成年人通常每天都同意接受标准的医疗服务。例如,在没有父母在场的情况下参加常规体检的未成年人会定期同意进行身体检查、心理健康检查或小型医疗程序。 需要注意的是,大多数未成年人都让他们的父母和看护人参与他们的医疗保健;这项规定保护了少数因虐待、遗弃或其他情况而无法这样做的未成年人。

回到顶部

 

5. 考虑到数据发布组件,我孩子的隐私将如何维护
这个法案?

个人信息受到多项现有隐私法的保护,《社区豁免法》不会更改这些法律。事实上,该法案明确规定,“如果会导致个人识别信息泄露……或违反适用的隐私法,则不需要发布免疫数据”。见 (m) 和 (n) 段。该法案要求涵盖的计划和 DPH 每年发布免疫数据,以符合这些隐私要求。 DPH 目前为响应该部门的自愿免疫调查的计划发布此数据。 [1]根据现行做法,不会发布任何个人识别信息。 [2] 同样,任何针对高风险计划(针对至少一种传染病的免疫接种率低于群体免疫的涵盖计划)的任何外展活动都适用于参与该计划的每个人;不会透露任何人的个人疫苗接种状况。

 

[1] https://www.mass.gov/service-details/school-immunizations

[2] 例如,DPH 不会为 30 名或更少学生的项目发布免疫信息,因为此类发布可能会无意中泄露个人身份信息。

回到顶部

© 2020 All rights reserved. This is the official office website for MA State Senator Becca Rausch. Becca's campaign website is maintained separately.

Community Immunity Act FAQs

 
 
 
 
 

1. Can I still get a religious exemption? What are the religious exemption application elements, and why are they included in this bill?

Yes. The Community Immunity Act maintains religious exemptions. The Act also standardizes and centralizes the process for obtaining a religious exemption from immunization requirements for covered programs, including:

  • Standardized application forms: The Act requires all parents and caregivers seeking religious exemptions to complete the same religious exemption application form, created by DPH. The Act also requires that parents and caregivers seeking religious exemptions acknowledge, on the form, that refusing to vaccinate is against public health policy and may endanger the health or safety of their children or others. These statements are similar to statements already in use in more than a dozen other states. The completed form must be submitted to DPH for processing.
     

  • Provider signature: Religious exemption application forms must be signed by a child’s healthcare provider ONLY to acknowledge receipt of a copy of the application. This signature is not an evaluation or endorsement of the religious exemption. The purpose of this signature is to promote open dialogue between providers and parents who do not vaccinate. The Community Immunity Act instructs DPH to provide an alternate process for program participants who do not have a primary care provider.
     

  • DPH approval: The Act explicitly states, in paragraph 5(j), that DPH “shall approve all validly and accurately completed religious exemption application forms.” In other words, DPH does not have authorization to reject properly completed religious exemption application forms. Forms will be processed through DPH to better ensure we have accurate statewide data on the number of exemptions granted in Massachusetts. DPH will not evaluate anyone’s religious beliefs.
     

  • Religious privacy: The Community Immunity Act does not ask any participant to disclose their particular religious beliefs. They must only certify they have a sincere religious belief preventing immunization, consistent with existing law. Similarly, it does not require any evidence or verification of this belief other than the statement itself.

Back to top

 

2. Will medical exemptions be harder to obtain?

No. The Community Immunity Act intentionally gives providers more flexibility in determining eligibility for a medical exemption by expressly stating that healthcare providers may consider a child’s complete medical circumstances, rather than limiting medical exemption availability only to those children with conditions falling squarely within immunization contraindications established by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). Like religious exemptions, the Act also standardizes and centralizes the medical exemption process, which does not exist under current statutory and regulatory frameworks. Here’s how the process would work:
 

  • Medical exemptions based on a contraindication: DPH must approve all validly completed medical exemption applications for generally accepted contraindications.
     

  • Medical exemptions based on other medical circumstances: Section 5, paragraph f of the Act clarifies for both providers and parents/caregivers that medical exemptions may be granted based on medical factors other than commonly accepted contraindications. Experts at DPH may substantively review medical exemption applications prior to approval. Any parents or caregivers denied a medical exemption will have an opportunity to appeal, pursuant to Section 5, paragraph j of the Act.

Back to top

3. What happens for children who need to “catch up” and aren’t currently fully vaccinated according to the schedule?

Children who are behind on the recommended vaccination schedule for whatever reason but whose medical records indicate an effort to catch up to the schedule will not be excluded from covered programs. No exemption is required, pursuant to paragraph (c) of the Act.

Back to top

 

4. What is the mature minor rule and does the bill drastically change it?

The mature minor rule allows capable young people to consent to standard medical treatment. The rule is already in practice in Massachusetts, as set forth in Baird v. Attorney General (1977). The Community Immunity Act codifies this practice. Mature minors routinely consent to standard medical care every day. For example, minors who attend routine medical check ups without a parent present regularly consent to physical examinations, mental health screenings, or minor medical procedures. It is important to note that most minors involve their parents and caregivers in their health care; this provision protects the few minors who cannot do so because of abuse, abandonment, or other circumstances.

Back to top

 

5. How will my child’s privacy be maintained, given the data publication components of
this bill?

Personal information is protected by several existing privacy laws, and the Community Immunity Act does not change those laws. In fact, the Act specifically states that publication of immunization data “shall not be required if it would result in disclosure of personally identifying information … or otherwise violate applicable privacy laws.” See paragraphs (o) and (p). The Act requires covered programs and DPH to publish immunization data annually, consistent with these privacy requirements. DPH currently publishes this data for programs that respond to the Department’s voluntary immunization survey.[1] No personally identifying information will be published, consistent with current practice.[2] Similarly, any outreach for an elevated risk program (a covered program with immunization rates below herd immunity for at least one infectious disease) is for everyone involved with the program; no one’s personal vaccination status will be disclosed.

 

[1] https://www.mass.gov/service-details/school-immunizations

[2] For example, DPH does not publish immunization information for programs with 30 or fewer students, as such publication might unintentionally reveal personally identifying information.

Back to top